The Pinterest Challenge

One of the blessings that stemmed from my visitors last week, was learning of the blog Young House Love.  This blogger has amazing ideas!  I’m looking forward to looking over her blog more as I have the time.   But, one post caught my eye, so I’m joining in on the fun!

And for those of you who are scratching your heads right now while thinking, “Huh?  Pinterest?  What’s that?”  you can think of this social networking site kinda like your Favorites tab, with pictures of your favorite items and friends grabbing your favorites while you grab theirs!

The problem is that you grab so many ideas, you don’t have time to do them all.  And sometimes many times you don’t get around to doing any of these cool ideas!  So thank you, Katie and Sherry for putting out this challenge!

Be sure to check out the projects they completed:

Katie at Bower Power

Sherry at Young House Love

Erin at House of Earnest

Ana at Ana White

My Pinterest project with a spin begins with a section of our laundry room that is totally not kid-friendly.  Propane furnace, water heater, and tons of cords and hoses going everywhere.  So Caleb nailed up an old door in order to keep the littlest one in the family from doing acrobats with a hose while propane sprays all over the house.  (He’s a pretty sensible man, don’t you think?  🙂 )  But, the problem is that now my laundry room looked like this:

umm, yeah, so not charming!  So I began to work.  I washed, and painted, and let the kids paint..

Isn’t she just adorable?  I love her focus – totally wrapped up in what she’s doing.  Wait.  I think you need to see her face to understand just how wrapped up in her project she is.

As I said, she’s gorgeous.  🙂  Anyway, between the four of us, we eventually got the primer on the door.  (Hopefully it was covered well enough, although I don’t think that was quite the worry we had)

Then over the course of three nap times, I worked on the next stages.  Maybe I’m a wimp, but I really don’t like the idea of 4 children, ages 5 and under, running all around in the laundry room while I’m working with this:

Yes, I did make my own mini-paintbrushes for the individual colors.  It wasn’t the greatest item for painting with, but it worked.

After adding a bit of chalkboard paint, then some fabric and clothespins adhered with Mod Podge, my door came out looking like this:

And just in time for a special little man’s first birthday:

I think he likes it.   I think the others like it too.

Do you notice Isaac tracing his name with the chalk?  Brilliant!  I hadn’t even considered that yet!

This little guy may be the one who will end up using this board the most:

I think it turned out pretty well…

To see where I got the idea for this board, check out Kojo Designs

5 thoughts on “The Pinterest Challenge

  1. April when you were a kid I had a computer game called “States” & “Capitals”! When our grandchildren came over I would have them play this game for educational purposes.
    You kids also loved to paint on our computer paint program. Love, Grandpa

    All our Love
    Grandpa & Grandma

    • I remember those games, Grandpa! I loved playing the computer games at your house. 🙂 I also remember the “10 Little Indian Boys” song. I now sing that song to my kids to help them learn how to count! My kids like me to change up the words, too. So we first sing ’10 little Indian boys’, then ’10 little Indian girls’, and then one for babies, and Mama’s and Papa’s, even horses and chickens get their own song! 🙂
      I love you so much!
      April

Leave a Reply

