Happy Birthday, Ethan!

My Darling Baby Boy,

You aren’t such a little baby anymore.  After all, today you are now a full year old!  It’s been an exciting year with you, watching you grow and change.  One year ago I held you in my arms, and wondered at who you were.

Today I look at you, seeing much of who you are, and wonder how these personalities will help you make an impact on our world.

I see your determination, caution, and strong love for others. 

Determination in getting what you want.  I’m so happy that you are blessed with this characteristic!  I’m certain it is this part of your personality that caused you to sit up, roll over, and get your first tooth all in the same day!  (Well, maybe the tooth is unaccounted for, but it sure was weird!)  Certainly, it makes for some tough times right now when you want things that could hurt you, but keep that spirit, my son!  Determination, when directed toward godly desires, will allow you to impact this world in ways that others don’t even think are possible.

Caution in getting to know new people.  It was so eye-opening to me the other day when the repair man came to our home, and you crawled back to where he was working without knowing he was there.  You began the loudest wail I’d heard in a long time.  When he picked you up, you screamed even louder.  I’m thankful that you are cautious.  As you grow, you will learn what to be cautious about, and what is okay, but always trust your gut, my child.  It will allow you to test and prove all that comes your way.  Make certain as you go through life to set your standard against Jesus Christ, so that as you test people and ideas (even your own!), your results will come out accurate.

The personality in you that I adore the most is your strong love for others.  You’ve just begun giving me “kisses” by planting on open mouth squarely on my nose.  Your determination insists that the kiss be on my nose, while your love for me insists that I allow the kiss.  Those are precious moments with you!  They always come unexpectedly, and you never will repeat it for the camera, but they are stored away in my heart, where nothing can take the memory away.  Your first word was “Hi”, and you say it often!  It’s as though you are building our relationship by saying, “Hi, Hi, Hi!”  And of course, you are so adorable, we have to reply each and every time.  You have melted the hearts of myself, of your Papa, and of all your big brothers and sister through this little 2-letter word!  Your love for others will take you far, my son.  Always remember to enjoy others, loving them, and you will have no lack for friends.

I pray for you, little Ethan.  I pray that your love, caution, and determination will be directed in godly ways.  I pray that you will first love the LORD Jesus Christ, giving Him your devotion.  After all, if you love Jesus, and are determined to follow Him, then nothing can take you too far astray.

Psalm 1: 1-3

 Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.

 But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.

 And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Ethan!

  1. Awww… sweet Ethan! 5th Sunday at Quinns’ was this week, and I thought back to one year ago – how happy I was to see you there, how we were both pregnant – you overdue, but saying you felt it wasn’t happening anytime soon. Then the call announcing Ethan’s birth, less than 12 hours later!
    I missed having you there, but I’m so glad we still get to keep in touch!

    • Caleb and I were just thinking of the 5th Sunday gatherings too! Ethan’s birth came so perfectly, delayed just enough for me to visit with you first! LOL… but I still think going into labor during the time there would’ve been just fine with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

