Green Tomatoes

I’ve never known what to do with all those green tomatoes left on the vine at the end of summer.  That is, until a friend shared her pickled green tomato recipe with me!  The kids and I made 20 quarts of these yesterday, and they look so good!  The only problem:  We have to wait two whole weeks to try them out??!!  Okay, I guess I’ll just have to let you know how they taste later on.  But for now, I’m taking my friend’s word for them:  “This is a favorite recipe in our home!”

And on an entirely different note, but way too cute to pass up:

As Caleb was coming home from work one day, he stopped by a store and bought me a gorgeous scarf just to let me know he was thinking of me.  (I adore my man!  He’s so sweet!)  I’ve been wearing the scarf nearly every day lately, and yesterday noticed this:

Yes, my little baby man has been picking up any cloth he can find (towels, mostly) and hanging them around his neck, mimicking his Mama’s scarf.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Green Tomatoes

  1. Oooh, the tomatoes sound really good! We still have some on our vines – maybe I’ll try something like this. I tried some other green tomato recipes last year but none of them were hits.
    Your little guy is such a cutie! Is he chunkier than your others have been at that age or do I just not remember right? He has such an infectious little grin!

    • The recipe I used was given to me by a friend. We put in a single quart jar stuffed with quartered tomatoes:
      1 pepper (the recipe calls for 4, but I figured we didn’t need it that spicy)
      4 garlic cloves
      a sprinkling of dill seed (the recipe called for fresh dill sprig, but I didn’t have that)
      heaping tablespoon of salt
      1/4 cup vinegar
      enough hot water to fill the jar.

      As for Ethan, yes, he is chubby!! I love having a chubby baby finally. 🙂 He’s so cute!! IMHO, of course.. 🙂

    • I don’t know if there are actual ‘fully ripe’ green tomatoes. The green tomatoes I used would have turned red if there had been enough summer left! These just are not ripe yet! I’d never done anything with them before, but am looking forward to tasting these ones!

Leave a Reply

