Family Life

So it looks like I’m a day late.  I guess you just might have to forgive me on that one.  🙂

 

We’ve had such fun the last couple days!  I found out that a local Pregnancy Resource Center was holding a massive yard sale, so the kids and I spent all Wednesday afternoon and all day Thursday helping the PRC set up the yard sale.  It looks great!  (And I loved shopping at the end of the day on Thursday!)

I would post photos of the kids playing with all the toys, and me folding, and folding, and folding all the clothes.  But…. somehow I forgot to pull out the camera.   Oops.   So, use your imagination.  🙂

Anyway, here’s a few quotes that put a smile on my face:

Caleb and I had acquired quite a few cell phones recently.  Many of them didn’t work, so we let the children pick out one for themselves.  One morning, I saw Isaac and Elly sitting quietly with their phones and Elly told Isaac, “I’m going online.”  He responded, “Yeah.  I’m going on Facebook.” 

One night, about an hour after we’d put the children to bed, Caleb and I headed upstairs only to find Elly still up, playing with her dolls.  “What are you doing up?” I asked her.  She responded in tears, “Mama, if I lay down, I will get tired!”

This last week we had a thunderstorm, after which sleet came pounding down.  Isaac rushed up to me and said with wide-open eyes, “Mama!  That is NOT rain out there.  I don’t know what it is, but it’s not rain!” 

Yesterday, while folding clothes at the yard sale, Nethaneel would occasionally leave his toys, run up to me, and say oh-so-cutely, “I love you, Mama!”  One time, another lady overheard him, and told him, “You need to sing this song to your Mama:  I love you, a bushel and a peck.  A bushel and a peck and a hug around the neck”  He watched her intently all through the song, then turned to me and said, “I love you, Mama, that song.” 

2 thoughts on “Family Life

  1. Man, your kids never run out of good lines, do they? Now that I know this is a regular Thursday thing for you, I’m going to really be looking forward to Thursdays!

Leave a Reply

