Courageous!

Caleb and I haven’t been out to see a movie since Fireproof came out, so we were thrilled to pack the kids up and go see Courageous this last weekend!  We were a tad apprehensive about taking 4 little children into a movie that we hadn’t previewed; but having watched Sherwood Pictures other films (Flywheel, Facing the Giants, and Fireproof), we were confident enough that it’d be okay.  In the end, we are so glad we went! 

In case you’ve heard nothing about Courageous yet, here’s what the makers have to say about it: 

While they consistently give their best on the job, good enough seems to be all they can muster as dads. But they’re quickly discovering that their standard is missing the mark.

When tragedy hits home, these men are left wrestling with their hopes, their fears, their faith, and their fathering. Can a newfound urgency help these dads draw closer to God … and to their children?

 

And the trailer:

So what are my two cents about this movie?  Go see it.  Take your box of tissues, and a good friend to laugh with. 

 

You will be challenged to be courageous.  I was.  It’s often hard for us parents to stand up for what we know is right for our children.  Sometimes I have to be courageous when I’m standing in line at the checkout aisle, and see yet another practically nude lady on the magazine.  Sometimes I have to be courageous when my 2-year-old looks me in the face, sets his little chin high in the air, and defiantly says, “NO!”  And sometimes, those of us who were given less than our share of mercy, have to be courageous when the 5-year-old skins his knee and comes crying.   

Another detail that I love about this movie, is that Sherwood Pictures is getting better with every movie they make to get the message out loud and clear without a whole lot of preaching.  I realize I don’t watch movies all that often, but as I watched this one, I didn’t feel like I heard a sermon (even if I did!)  I felt like I could understand the characters, and it has driven me on to be a better parent for my little children.

Talking about children, the question comes up:  Would I recommend this movie for other young children?  That, in itself, is a difficult thing to answer, but I think I would err on the side of safety and say, “No”.  Our young children saw it (5,4,2,1), and they handled it well.  However, there are quite a few tense moments, and although I don’t regret taking my children in the least, I don’t think I would recommend that a parent take their young child without previewing it first.  Think: cops, gangs, drugs, guns.  It’s exciting, action-packed, but probably a bit much for most little kids. 

So all you Mamas out there with young kids, if you’re like me and don’t want to get a babysitter, wait till it comes out on DVD, order pizza for yourself and corndogs for the kiddos, then put them to bed early and snuggle up on the couch with your man for 2 hours of great entertainment that leaves you knowing that this life matters, and so thankful for the gifts God has given you!

One thought on “Courageous!

Leave a Reply

