Family Life

So what do you think of my new look?  The blog look, that is.  I like it, although I wish I could figure out how to put a random photo gallery on each page for you!  I’ve been trying to figure it out, and someday will get there.  Also, be sure to check out my new Links page! 

What has my last week been like?  Wow.  How about we forget that question and just move on to the kid’s quotes!  🙂

The children have had endless entertainment with our stairs.  They are now’bumping’ down the slope every day, countless times during the day!  Even Ethan is thrilled with the ride!  This last week Isaac asked me to join them.  Since I really enjoy playing with my kids, I had a dangerous thought: “Why not?”  So, I sat down, and proceeded to bump my way down the steps.  I only made it a few bumps before the agony in my rear end compelled me to give up that sort of play!  I jumped up, telling Isaac that it hurts for Mama to bump down the steps.  He looked at me full of pity and understanding, then replied: “Ohhh… that’s because you have a big bottom.”  ACK!!  Thanks, child!

Our children have confused the word ‘beat’ (as in, “I’ll beat you to the finish line!”) with the term “beat up”  It provides quite a bit of humor, as you can see exemplified in the following situations.

The other day I was eagerly getting trying to get my children to help with cleaning the kitchen.  I told them, “You pick up the floor, and I will do the dishes!  Let’s see who will get done first!”  As we neared the end of our tasks, I kept calling out encouragements, “Oh! It looks like I might beat you!”  “Wow!  You all are going fast!  Now you might beat me!”  At the end, we conveniently ended at the same time.  Isaac smiled up at me and said, “Mama, now no one has to get beat up because we tied!” 

A few days ago, while walking home from the Post Office, we hurried so that we could “beat Papa home from work.”  As we neared our house, we could see that Caleb’s van was already in the driveway.  Upon seeing it, all three children began yelling at the top of their lungs for the entire neighborhood to hear, “Papa beat us up!  Papa beat us up!”   Yeah, I think it might be time to start using a different word!  

                                                                                                                   

One thought on “Family Life

Leave a Reply

