Forgiveness

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always struggled at properly apologizing and also forgiving others for their offenses toward me.  It was something that Caleb and I had to work out when we were first married, and it was a topic that broached itself again when our children became old enough to talk.  At first we were just having them say “I’m sorry” when they made an offense, but it rang hollow in our ears, and we knew that we needed to teach our children more. 

Over the last month, though, we began doing something else.  Before they apologize, we now talk with the offending child about their heart’s condition.  Was he selfish?  Angry?  Deceitful?  We discuss with him what the proper response to his emotion should have been.  Then, the child goes to the offended and says something along the lines of, “I’m sorry I took the toy from you.  I was being selfish.  Next time I will ask you if I can play with it.  Will you forgive me?”  The offended child has always given his forgiveness immediately, with a quick hug and a smile.  Relationships between the children are restored, and peace is again in our home. 

5 thoughts on “Forgiveness

    • You did an excellent job raising children. 🙂 Exemplified by the fact that we love the Lord and want to serve Him. If I can do just that much, I’ll be thrilled. We’re all going to mess up on some areas, but praise the Lord, He is greater than our mistakes. 🙂

  1. This is a very good post! I teach them to say sorry when they did something wrong towards others. But I have not taught them to say the reason yet. I think I should start it now. Thank you for your post 🙂

    If you don’t mind please visit my blog and I would be very happy if you are willing to share your thought there 🙂

    Yulia
    http://www.mylifeismyrainbow.wordpress.com

  2. Wonderful, April! Oh, properly humbling myself to admit wrong and ask forgiveness is so difficult! But knowing that my children must learn good character from me is a great inspiration to work out those flaws! You also are a great inspiration to me and I thank you so much for writing these things out so I can benefit from your wisdom!

    • I agree! Having children has definitely made me want to work out my own character flaws. I don’t think I would’ve put much effort into thinking about what appologies should be like if I didn’t have kids! 🙂 And Virginia, it goes both ways – you are such an inspiration to me!! So when’s your next blog post? ::hint, hint:: 🙂

Leave a Reply

